Class Blogs

Learning Council Meeting


The learning council met with Mrs Smithosn today and what a busy meeting we had! Below are the minutes.

Discussion points

  • We need to write the letters requesting more calculation practise in maths meeting
  • Pupil perceptions ~ learning council to lead some pupil perceptions next term about the children’s opinions on learning ~ teachers will give you the questions
  • What are our classes enjoying in their learning?

~ Owls

  • The book in English ~ ‘The Dual World of Anders Arnfield’
  • Computing ~ programming
  • Music
  • Maths ~ making our own raps
  • Art ~ abstract art

~ Badgers

  • English ~ the story of Romulus and Remus
  • Art ~ using watercolours
  • Maths
  • Topic ~ Roman work

~ Squirrels

  • Science ~ about how germs spread and grow
  • English ~ how to stay healthy
  • Christmas performance rehearsals

 

Anything to raise?

  • Consider motivational posters in other classrooms (like the ones used in Owls)
  • Reading rewards ~ it encourages people to read more often
  • Can we do something to raise money for extra learning resources?

Actions

  • Find posters to give other classrooms ~ maybe other children to make these in a poster competition
  • Y5 and 6 children to write the letter requesting more calculation practise in maths meeting
  • Teachers to make the pupil perception questions for learning council to do next term

 

Term Dates

2021 - 2022
  • Summer Term 2: Tue, 7 June - Thu, 21 July
2022 - 2023
  • PD Days Thur, 1 Sept & Fri, 2 Sept 2022
  • Autumn Term 1: Mon, 5 Sept - Thur, 20 Oct
  • PD Day Friday, 21 October 2022
  • Autumn Term 2: Mon, 31 Oct - Fri, 16 Dec
  • PD Day Tuesday, 3 January 2023
  • Spring Term 1: Wed, 4 Jan 2023 - Fri, 10 Feb 2023
  • Spring Term 2: Mon, 20 Feb - Fri, 31 March
  • Summer Term 1: Mon, 17 Apr - Fri, 26 May
  • PD Day Monday, 5 June 2023
  • Summer Term 2: Tue, 6 June - Fri, 21 July 2023

CEOP